ALA TechSource Logo
 
curve Home spacer Publications spacer Subscribe spacer Blog spacer About  
    

Sarah Houghton and Paul Signorelli Take on Web Analytics for Librarians

Submitted by Daniel A. Freeman on November 28, 2011 - 9:29am

CHICAGO - ALA TechSource announces a new session of the popular workshop Web Analytics for Librarians: Informing Decisions Through Web User Data with Paul Signorelli and Sarah Houghton. This workshop will take place in two parts on Jan. 12 and 26, 2012.

In order to guide purchases and appropriately distribute services and staff time, it’s essential that libraries accurately track the usage of their websites and online resources. In this two-part workshop, Sarah Houghton and Paul Signorelli will define, demystify, and explore web analytics. You will learn how to use web analytics as tools for improving your library’s information architecture, usability, marketing and communication. 

Topics include:

 

  • The definition of Web analytics
  • How your library can benefit from using Web analytics
  • Determining what to track
  • Google Analytics and other tools
  • Visualizing data using Wordle, Gapminder and other tools
  • Examples of how public and academic libraries  are currently using Web analytics

In this updated version of the workshop that first took place in early 2011, Signorelli returns while Sarah Houghton takes the place of Char Booth, who helped to develop the structure and content of the event.

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. You can purchase registration at both individual and group rates. The workshop consists of two 90-minute parts that take place at 2 p.m. EST/1 p.m. CST/12 p.m. MST/11 a.m. PST on Thursdays, Jan. 12 and 26, 2012.

Sarah Houghton is the assistant director for the San Rafael Public Library.  She writes about library technology, copyright, virtual services and library instruction at her well-known blog, Librarian in Black. In 2009, she was named a Library Journal Mover & Shaker as a Trendspotter and is the author of Technology Training in Libraries. Also a consultant and instructor, Houghton presents worldwide on the intersection of technology and libraries.

Paul Signorelli has more than 20 years of experience working for libraries and nonprofit organizations. As director of staff training (six years) and volunteer services (14 years) for the San Francisco Public Library, he created, implemented and managed numerous training plans. A graduate of the Infopeople Master Trainer project, he is co-author of Workplace Learning & Leadership: A Handbook for Library and Nonprofit Trainers. He is active in the ALA’s Learning Roundtable and the American Society for Training and Development (ASTD).